No reason to have these dry eyes!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No reason to have these dry eyes!

Hi! I'm a 22 year old female college student and have been suffering with dry eyes for about a year. My opinion is that this started after I was taking some strong antibiotics for about a week.
    I've been wearing contact lenses for about 8 years and glasses since age 2. I am extremely farsighted and have astigmatism in both eyes - I can't go without glasses or contacts, but prefer to wear contacts. Since this started, it has been extremely difficult to wear my contacts (unfortunately my prescription doesn't come in daily lenses yet in the USA..they do in a few other countries, though!) I think daily lenses would at least help me to get into contacts occasionally -- at least on a Fri or Sat night!
    Having extremely dry eyes has made life very difficult for me. I've been to my regular ophthamologist/optometrist, Dr. Michael Gagnon, as referred on this site, regular MD to check thyroid, Sjogrens and other auto-immune problems, but all blood work has turned out fine. I've also gone to a highly regarded Chinese doctor, which gave me lots of ideas. (Vitamin C Complex, dandelion tea a couple of times a day, carrot juice, KYO powder, Eye bright and suggested to increase water intake. I've done all of it, but to no avail. I also have very dry nasal passages. I've used a humidifier in my bedroom at night and it doesn't help, still have to pry my eyes open in the morning and hear them 'crack'. I have tried drop after drop and have been on Restasis for seven months, and nothing has helped. I'm thinking of using Trader Joe brand probiotics, to see if that will help neutralize the antibiotics from a year ago.
    Thank you for listening, if anyone has any suggestions or ideas, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Agreed - no reason to have these dry eyes either!