new and need advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new and need advice

I am 39yrs old male. I had dry eyes for 10 months from lasik. I am having difficulty with the medical professions concerning dry eyes. No one has an answer when i ask questions concerning my issues I have.

Here what I have: Dry eyes, star burst, halos, photophopia (sensitive to the sun but not lights), itchiness, floaters. All these from lasik.

I am in a dilemma. I am a truck driver and haul long distance(I work the graveyard shift). It is a hassle to stop frequently to add the drops, and if I don t stop, then I cry to lubricate my eyes.

I need advice and opinions concerning what I need to do to work more comfortably.
    I reside in Canada so the optm gave me a presc. for restasis. Since it is sold in the U.S.A, I informed what it will cost me to purchase the product. $124.00 for 16 day supply. Do any of you think its worth a try for 6 months or not to bother in purchasing the product.
    I really appreciate any inputs from all of you
    Thx M
    Last edited by m_cncl; 16-Dec-2007, 21:13. Reason: did not finish my story

I read that there is a very specific set of evaluation criteria that an opthalmologist should use to determine whether you are likely to benefit from Restasis or not. Unfortunately, the majority don't seem to go through those steps and, instead, prescribe Restasis and tell the patient, "See if this works." Unfortunately, also, it can take up to 6 months to show results, even if you are in the minority of DES sufferers who will benefit from its use.

Before you spend that kind of money on a dark horse, you might want to exhaust these other steps to see if you get relief first:

* A car humidifier to keep the humidity levels in your truck in the 40 - 50% range or higher. (You should buy an inexpensive hygrometer to see how humid the cab is. If it normally runs above 50%, you won't need a humidifier.)