Computers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Computers

I have severe dry eye, blepharitius and all the complications that usually go along. I'm a writer and I find that working on the computer makes my eyes burn. I've resorted to a pen and paper, but at some point I use the computer to enter changes and then I suffer for hours afterwards. Has anyone found anything helpful for computer viewing/writing? Do anti-glare screens work? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Hi, I do a lot of writing when I'm not at work, one tip someone gave me which I keep forgetting to do is to put the colour of the document (background) you're typing into from white to soft pink or any other softer colour. Sounded like a good tip. Doesn't help for internet surfing though...

I'm curious if anyone has any good anti-glare screens to recommend too, I try toning down the screen but it doesn't seem to go very low....
    just keep swimming...

Comment

Maybe you just have a monitor that is hard on your eyes. Maybe get one good at reproducing text, with a wide viewing angle, and a good contrast ratio, like the Hewlett Packard LP2065 20-inch LCD (it has a 4:3 aspect ratio).

Comment

Originally posted by Eva M View Post
        I'm a writer and I find that working on the computer makes my eyes burn.
        My view of a writer is one that works from home or at least not at the little cube I sit on the computer at all day. Assuming that is the case, I think your best bet is to get a good humidifier right next to you. It doesnt help me in my large open air environment however but I know it would otherwise.

You could try a break reminder program. I used to use one that made me take a 20 second break every five minutes. Its amazing how quickly five minutes can go, doesnt seem like I would type for five minutes straight...but I certainly do. Im not allowed to have unlicensed programs now at work, so that put the stops on that but im working with my ergonomics dept on that.