New UK members, at my wits end with irritable eyes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New UK members, at my wits end with irritable eyes

Hello, I'm a newbie! I am a 27 year old guy from the UK and I've been suffering from eye problems for about 12 years now, previous to that I didn't really have any problems. It is such a relief to find this website as I find the problem embarrasing and nobody else seems to have it.

It all started one day when my eyes got increasing more irritable, feeling dry and tired at first and then becoming red, weepy, sore and with a horrible aching, stinging feeling that just seemed to get worse and worse.

I went to the 'Eye Casualty' unit at the local hospital and they said I had 'Corneal Abrasion', however the problem kept coming back and I've been struggling with it ever since. Some days I'm fine but other days my eyes are painful all day.

I often have bad episodes where my eyes get worse and worse and eventually they get so bad that I have to go and lay down for several hours. Closing my eyes helps immensely in the short term and in these situations it is painful just keeping my eyes open. The pain is unbearable and I am totally unable to concentrate on anything.

I used to be under a consultant at the eye hospital but they discharged me because there was "nothing more they could do" but they don't realise how much misery this is causing me. They were never very helpful and didn't explain anything to me about what exactly the problem was.

I have identified one very obvious trend for setting off bad episodes and you will probably think this is wierd - I certainly do and the consultant at the hospital told me that I was talking nonsense when I brought this theory up but it is social situations that make it worse.