This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cyclosporine in UK on NHS?

Saw my Ophth yesterday, and he encouraged me to seek out Restasis on the Internet as he could not perscribe it in the UK. However, this page seems to say that Cyclosporine drops are available on the NHS:

http://www.goodhope.org.uk/departmen...ies.htm#severe

Cyclosporine drops are available now from the NHS and can be very helpful.
    Anyone in the UK know any more about this? Buying online looks bloody expensive!

I dont know but prob be expensive..

Better off getting them from www.edrugnet.com

But you should take that along to him next time.. cylsporine have been available but must dont use for dry eye and as i said mite be expensive.
    I healed my dry eye with nutrition and detoxification. I'm now a Nutritional Therapist at: www.nourishbalanceheal.com Join my dry eye facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/420821978111328/

Comment

Anyone in the UK know any more about this? Buying online looks bloody expensive

Hi Jlg

I saw that link too but it's misleading. The version of Cyclosporine ointment is that which is licensed for animal use. It is true that it is used in the NHS. I was prescribed it by a consultant I am seeing privately - it cost around £12 but it didn't help me at all. Restasis was obtainable but ridiculously expensive.

There are 2 pharmacists who import it to the UK. I cannot think of their names but one refused to deal with queries from the public (me) and the other quoted around £300 for 32 vials.

Boots the Chemist sourced it from me and it was going to cost around £970 for a months supply - but I think that might have been based on the dose that the consultant prescribed ie 2 lots of 32 vials

Wherever you obtain it, a prescription is needed. It's a real pain isn't it? I wrote to Allergen (UK) in recent weeks and they could not say when (or if) there were plans for it to be obtainable in Europe.

NB