1. Over the counter eye drops
    2. Hot compress
    3. Restasis
    4. PROSE lenses
    5. Oil supplements
    6. Eye scrubs
    7. Goggles
    8. Tear duct plugs

Is there anything else I can do? I seem to be getting worse with age. I am getting depressed about this and so tired of dealing with it. I am trying to read the different posts but having trouble because of eye pain. I usually don't read at all. I am a teacher and the only way I get away with not reading is because I teach Kindergarten (large print books)

It is very hard to deal with and I hope you manage to find something to help.

For myself, I have had a big improvement since my consultant prescribed celluvisc drops to use regularly during the day. I started by putting them in every half hour or so now it is about every two hours. They gradually cut down on the inflammation and swelling so the number of RCEs I get have dropped from three a night to five or so a month.

Hard when you are at work, but when my eyes felt particularly bad I would put in my drops then wear onyx goggles which completely cut out all light and fit closely to keep moisture in. After about half an hour the pain would subside to manageable.

Like you I had almost given up reading but I was given a Kindle at it has brought all the pleasure back. I increase the size of print until I am comfortable, drop it back when I don't need it. The screen is not back lit so it is not like looking at a computer or even the white surface of a normal book.

Dry eye is a really dreadful disease.

R.

Comment

Why not give a chance to a more natural approach?

There are some threads about naturopathy, homeopathy, ayurveda, acupuncture..

Comment

There's always something else to try