Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tried all treatments, here is what worked

Guys,

I have been posting quite a bit on this forum for the past three years, as Lasik made my MGD symptomatic and left me with a bit of corneal neuropathy.

I have tried all treatments you can possibly imagine (IPL (10+ times), Probing (2x), Lipiflow, antibiotics, warm compresses, supplements, placenta-based drop (Regener Eyes)). I feel MUCH better today, I can work in front of a computer normally, go outside, do whatever; and I feel like it is my duty to share with you what is worth it and what is not.

What I would do as a dry eye sufferer which I believe gives you the best shot at feeling much better:

1) Find a dry eye doctor that offers both IPL and Probing to get an unbiased opinion and seek one of those treatment as first line of defense, based on your severity (probing for most severe cases, IPL + gland expression for medium to mild cases). I believe it is important to unclog the glands when those have been blocked for a while, before starting other treatments. For very severily clogged glands, Probing will unclog it. For milder patients, IPL + manual expression might do the job.

2) Once your glands are unclogged, you need to help those stay unclogged, with warm compresses followed by gentle eye-lid massage (google how) to help your glands get rid of old oils and get back to life. But just as important is to keep inflammation in check and send growth factors to stimulate your glands (placenta-based drops). The Regener Eyes drops have worked well for me. Using only six bottles of Regener Eyes can generate a very noticeable improvement.

So that's it. Probing or IPL + Regener eyes or similar product.

Things to avoid in my opinion:
    - Lipiflow: waste of money, honestly if you have MGD, a lipiflow won't change anything, it is too weak of a treatment.
    - Antibiotics: only use it if your doctor is confident you need it based on your own situation.