This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sheer frustration & a much needed rant

Not sure if any of you share in my feelings, but I'm really struggling with them today.

Yesterday an acquaintance and her husband stood in front of me excitedly telling me that she was going to have LASIK eye surgery to fix...probably among other visual issues...her astigmatism. As you might expect I stopped dead in my tracks and delicately asked her if she was certain about this. I explained that I'm a LASIK veteran and I've personally had serious issues.

I've noted from past conversations that there really is no amount of fast-talking (which I'm quite skilled at) that can really get a person to even remotely understand the trauma I've experienced due to LASIK.

So I'm explaining very simply and casually (so as not to sound like a nut case) how difficult my post-LASIK ride has been. It is curious to me how she has not taken notice in three years of knowing me of the incessant blotting of my very tired-looking eyes, my unusual foam lined goggles, the eye drop use...

But alas, in her blind excitement, all these miserable things I tell her go right over her head. I must add that I do know this woman to be let's say...simple. I would not expect her to do thorough research prior to jumping in to something like this. Nor did I feel it useful in offering her some web links where she could read some real stories that would curl her hair.

In my travels on this site and with what verbal communication I've offered on this topic, I can easily see that the written stories are most definitely more effective in communicating what refractive surgery can mean to a person and his/her family.