Corneal Edema Gone for now!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Corneal Edema Gone for now!

I have EBMD as well as DES, and nerves to lacrimal glands severely injured by neurosurgery. I did have pretty substantial corneal edema, my vision was very blurry, I was getting a lot of corneal abrasions, had erosion of cornea. I have been using Muro 128 drops and ointment religiously for 5 1/2 months, and edema is finally gone. I got the ok from my ophthalmologist yesterday to get refraction exam, did so today, and got substantially different rx than I have in my old glasses, which I'd only had for about 9 mos (pre-neurosurgery, pre-severe onset DES and EBMD). So now, once I get my new glasses, will be able to see substantially better than I am today! Because of all that is going on, my vision still won't be perfect, of course, but it'll be a heck of a lot better than it is now!

That's my great news!

I'm glad to hear that your edema is gone. That's great news.

Thanks for posting about visual acuity with the combination of DES and EBMD. I have the same problem. Muro 128 5% did not help me in the long term, but Dwelle does. I do have a terrible astigmatism in my right eye due to a rather large area near the bottom of my cornea in which the edema is quite persistent and stubborn.

Please post how your vision is with your new prescription. I'd love to have some advice to share with my optometrist, who said that he cannot correct for the astigmatism in my right eye, which makes life rather difficult.

Thanks,
    Liz

Comment

DES and EBMD

Liz,
      Thanks so much for your quick reply. I asked my ophthalmologist if I could start using Sochlor 5%, and Dwelle. He hadn't heard of either one, but said if the Sochlor was the same as Muro then it was not a problem. The Dwelle will be tried too, and I'll see how I do. So many people have written in such good things about Dwelle, that I'm really encouraged that it might also work well for me.