I miss my normal life and I hate the uncertainty

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I miss my normal life and I hate the uncertainty

I find it so painful to remember how just 7 months ago my life was completely different. I could bike in the wind with regular sunglasses on, even back in December. I was going to grocery stores and malls when visiting my family in the suburbs, just this November. I walked the streets of Toronto on cold and dry days and I did not feel a thing. And then bam, within a month I developed a full on moderate/severe dry eye disease. I have never used eye drops in my life before this December and my eyes never bothered me. This disease caught me completely off guard.

The uncertainty is the worst part. If someone told me, you need to do A, B, and C, and continue doing D and E for the rest of your life, and you will be okay in a year, I would feel fine. I can tolerate pain, discomfort, and the inconvenience, if I know there is an end in sight.

Instead it’s a guessing game. Will I get worse? Will Restasis help? It has been 4.5 months. Will Xiidra help? Is it my hormones after all? Do I have corneal neuropathy or is it purely a dry eye? If I add an allergy drop will I be ok? It is impossible to live a normal life in this complete uncertainty.

My my partner thinks I am depressed but I am only depressed because of my eyes. If I have a few good days, I instantly almost feel normal, sometimes even joyful. I am sure if my eyes got back to normal I would no longer have dark thoughts. I would have to work through PTSD, that is for sure though.

What got you through?

I could have written this word for word (apart from Toronto ).

Thank you for expressing your thoughts so clearly. The shared understanding on this forum is one of the things getting me through..

Comment

Thanks for sharing. What got me through

support from family

be positive, proactive, curious & with tenacity