Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

:rolleyes: MGD or not? Eyes almost back to "normal" dryness?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• :rolleyes: MGD or not? Eyes almost back to "normal" dryness?

This is my first time to post here, but I've been reading in the past several months. I had intralasik surgery in February 2013. Soon after the surgery I developed dry eyes, which was expected. I just kept using preservative free artificial drops whenever needed, usually every 15 minutes to 30 minutes. At around 3 months my eyes were still dry but I knew it took time to recover from lasik dryness and as long as I put PF artificial tears in my eyes, I was ok. At least no pain.

At about 5 months after the surgery, I started feeling burning sensation in my left eye (only) at the outer corner (only). I also noticed 2 red veins became more prominent. The burning sensation got worse towards the end of the day. I didn't want to open my eyes because of my pain. Air-conditioning absolutely kills my eyes.

And that's when I started online research and found this great community at dryeyezone.com. I diagnosed myself as a MGD patient. At my next lasik pos-op appointment, my post-op lasik doctor (not the same surgeon that performed my lasik surgery who is considered a top surgeon) agreed I had MGD based on the redveins, burning sensation and low TBUT of 4 seconds.

I was put on FML and azasite. FML brought instant relief but I know it does nothing for curing. After 3 weeks of FML (tapering down) and 10 days of azasite, my eyes seemed feeling better but the burning sensation was still there every evening, just less severe.