This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Success with increased cyclosporin concentration but not frequency

I have been using Restasis 1 drop, twice a day for 5 years. Despite the fact that I was convinced it "wasn't working" my dry eyes actually worsened when I had to stop using it for a wash-out period prior to participating in a clinical trial. After the trial, I started the Restasis again and barely noticed an improvement.

Then I read the paper that Rebecca mentioned in the Newsletter on a study that showed that increasing Restasis use to 3 or 4 times a day for a minimum of two months resulted in significantly improved signs and symptoms of dry eye in graft-v-host disease and Sjogren's patients. I was intrigued.

I tried it 4 times a day and didn't see any improvement. I reported this to my doctor and asked to have an eye drop custom compounded with a higher dose of cyclosporine. He quickly agreed that this was a good idea and said he had participated in running a study of dry eye in graft-v-host disease patients who used 1% cyclosporine in peanut oil and that the patients had great improvement. He wrote me the prescription and sent me on my way. I thought maybe 1% (20 times higher dose) would be overkill but was so desperate, I tried it.

The compounding pharmacy that made the drop used preservative free cyclosporine (Sandimmun) in corn oil. I tried the drop twice a day for a few days and noticed moderate stinging and burning. The pharmacist suggested that 1% was too high and that my eyes might be sensitive to the drug. He recommended titrating the dose up slowly and replaced the drop with 0.2% drops (4x stronger than Restasis). The difference is night and day! No more stinging and burning. Increased tears. Decreased dryness. And the corn oil feels sooooooo good.

If you're interested in increasing dose or frequency, there are options out there, but TALK TO YOUR DOCTOR AND PHARMACIST FIRST.