Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

meibomian gland pimple on eyelid margin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• meibomian gland pimple on eyelid margin?

I keep getting a small (smaller than poppy-seed size) golden-yellow oily looking pimple thing on my eyelid margin. There is one that comes and goes away within a few days on my lower margin, and another on my upper eyelid margin. Is this a blocked meibomian gland?

I'm doing warm moist compress at night without much effect.

Also, I just noticed recently that after a blink, both eyes sometimes form bubbles in the tears on the medial upper part of my eyeballs (big enough to see without a magnifying glass) that pop right away. Is this normal, or is this the "foamy tears" I hear about with MGD?

That doesn't sound like much fun zuzu. I'm no expert but it does seem related to MGD, it's logical to think if the eyelid glands are blocked and the meibum has solidified, a pimple will form at the base from a lack of moisture. After your warm moist compresses do you wipe your eyelids with a cotton bud and basically perform the eye spa routine that's described in Dr. Latkany's book "The Dry Eye Remedy" ? ... I found I was getting less pimples on my eyelids when following this procedure.

Comment

Zuzu70, Do you use a rice or flaxseed bag type of warm compress?
      Paediatric ocular rosacea ~ primum non nocere

Comment

I also get these 'bubbles' exactly as you describe! I'd also be interested to know if they're the 'foamy tears' associated with MGD. I have in the past also got the small pimples you describe, although I haven't had many in the last couple of months, since using warm compresses and lid massage.

Comment